Management team

Road Safety GB is managed by a Board of Directors with extensive expertise and experience in the road safety sector and who, individually and collectively, possess a wealth of knowledge and understanding of road casualty reduction and the associated disciplines of education, training, communications, engineering and enforcement.

The Board is supported by a team of international ambassadors who are road safety professionals working in the UK but drawn from ethnic minority groups who, because of their backgrounds, can provide expert assistance and support for the development and implementation of road safety interventions in developing countries.

Alan Kennedy – Executive Director

Alan became Road Safety GB’s first contracted manager in April 2014 on a consultancy basis. Prior to that he enjoyed a long and successful career with Durham County Council’s road safety team, and served as chair of Road Safety GB for more than four years.

07738 946139 | Email (Main) | Email (Alternative)

Sam Merison – Director of Academy

Sam is the road safety manager for both the London Borough of Richmond Upon Thames and Wandsworth Council. He became head of the Road Safety GB Academy in November 2013.

020 8487 5356 | Email

Jackie Bratley – Director of Finance

Jackie became Road Safety GB finance administrator in April 2016. Prior to this she spent eight years as National Standard Instructor Trainer and manager of the Instructor Training Organisation for Durham County Council.

07774 922086 | Email

June Howlett – Company Secretary

June is a road safety officer with Buckinghamshire County Council, Transport for Bucks and became company secretary of Road Safety GB in November 2017.

01296 382338 | Email


Richard Hall – Trustee

Richard has worked in road safety for 30 years and is currently road safety team manager for North Lincolnshire Council. He became Road Safety GB’s director without portfolio in February 2016.

01724 297346 | Email

Sonya Hurt – Business Ambassador

Sonya joined Nottinghamshire County Council 22 years ago and is currently team manager for highway safety.

0115 9774272 | Email